Standing Order No. 24B says: “Where, according to the opinion of the spokesperson… A movement… In neutral terms, no amendments can be tabled on this subject. [68] The Grieves amendment does not apply this permanent decision to any request made as part of the meaningful vote of the Act that would amend any request for the withdrawal process by Parliament. [2] Parliamentary votes on Brexit, sometimes referred to as “sensible votes,” are parliamentary votes under Section 13 of the United Kingdom`s European Union (Withdrawal) Act 2018, which requires the UK government to submit a amendeable parliamentary motion to ratify the Brexit withdrawal agreement at the end of negotiations between the government and the European Union, in accordance with Article 50. [1] [2] After losing the third vote and approval of the Cooper-Letwin Act at third reading at 313-312, May and her cabinet considered the possibility of bringing the withdrawal agreement back to Parliament for a fourth vote. [114] In mid-May, May said she would present the withdrawal agreement to Parliament in the first week of June. [115] Due to massive opposition to the new agreement, May postponed publication from 24 May to 4 June and subsequently resigned as Prime Minister. [116] Two amendments were adopted. The Brady Amendment called on the government to renegotiate Northern Ireland`s backstop.

It won 16 votes, backed by the Conservatives and the DUP against other parties in the House of Commons, but 7 Labour MPs backed it and eight Conservative MPs voted against. The Spelman-Dromey amendment expressed the desire of the House of Commons to avoid a Brexit without a deal. It received 8 votes, supported by all other parties except the Conservatives and the DUP, but with the support of 17 Conservative MPs. An amendment to pave the way for a binding law that would not prevent any agreement, the Cooper Boles amendment, failed by 23 votes. Three other amendments also failed. [83] [84] The main motion (as amended) was then adopted without division. The transitional period from 1 February expires at the end of December 2020. Any agreement on future relations between the EU and the UK must be concluded in full before that date, when it is due to come into force on 1 January 2021. Since none of the proposals presented in the second round were able to obtain a majority in the House of Commons, a third round of indicative votes was scheduled for April 3. [110] On 3 April 2019, the House of Commons instead focused on the debate on the “European Union Bill (Withdrawal) (No. 5).” The bill is also known as the Cooper-Letwin Bill, after its main sponsors, Yvette Cooper (Labour) and Oliver Letwin (Conservative).

The bill requires the government to obtain approval for an extension of the EU`s exit, if at all. In this regard, the House of Commons first debated a proposal from the House of Representatives to allow the legislation to be introduced for debate that day. There was an amendment to the Business of the House proposal to see more indicative votes by April 8, 2019; This failed in the first undecided vote since 1993. [111] In bbc Newsnight, Grieve said May had to respect the “assurances” given to her that Parliament would have a greater say in every final Brexit deal. [47] [48] There was a disagreement between the Conservatives on what had been agreed, and Anna Soubry, MP, said: “The Prime Minister said yesterday that clause c of Dominic Grieve`s amendment would be discussed as part of the new amendment to be tabled in the Lords”[49] and Stephen Hammond. and we have said that very strongly today in government.